My Awesome Writing: I don’t even know what post numbers these are

So here’s my writing that I’ve missed over the past week. This is all I have so far. I kinda have writer’s block…

Once I get to the pool, I slink into the locker rooms. I briskly put on my swimsuit, and then walk out of the locker rooms. I slip into the pool and act like I’m taking a swim. Trying my hardest to look casual, I glance around the pool, searching for Scarlet and the mystery person. I spot Scarlet, but there’s nobody with her. She’s behind the pool equipment, looking like she’s searching for someone. As Scarlet’s gaze falls on me, she gestures wildly toward me. I wonder if she saw somebody behind me, then it dawns on me. The message was for me! It was all a trick. I was supposed to hear her scream, “accidentally” find the message, and come spy on her. How could I be so stupid? I hurry back to the dorm, get my pajamas on, grab my book, and hop in bed. For some reason reading always calms my thoughts. After a while Helen comes in. She’s looking really flustered; she’s dust-covered, her top is crooked, and her nail polish is chipped. I’m wondering what somebody would have to do to get that kind of look on her face. From what I know about Helen, she always has a sparkle in her eye and a smile on her face, but not now. Her expression is the exact opposite. “What happened to-“ she stops me before I can finish. “Don’t ask.” “Come on Helen. I really want to know.” I pleaded. “Fine!” she gives in. “I was walking towards the dorms, and I’m pretty sure that I fell into a largish hole, maybe about 6 ½ feet deep.” She starts before continuing, ”I got really scratched up and stuff, but that’s not the worst part. I couldn’t get out. Being the petite girl that I am, I was still a good foot and a half from the top, even when I reached my arms up.” I’m amazed at this. Helen doesn’t seem like the kind of girl who would get stuck in a hole! “I tried calling for help, but of course, nobody answered. Then I started wondering what a 6-foot deep hole would be doing in the middle of the courtyard. I knew that I’d never seen this hole before, so it must be newly dug. Then I remembered the well that they were going to put in over here. It was announced during breakfast, so you didn’t hear about it. I finally got myself out by scooping out some dirt to form makeshift steps.” She finishes. “Ugh! How could I be so stupid?” “It’s okay.” I console her. “I thought the same thing today.” Helen looks at me questioningly. The intercom crackles. “Dinner time!” It’s our housemother, Margaret. We have intercoms, which is another thing I love about Empire Academy. “I’ll tell you about it after dinner.” For dinner we’re having spaghetti & meatballs, string beans, mashed potatoes, and a choice of lemonade, Margaret’s homemade strawberry-kiwi smoothie, or just plain water or milk. Margaret won’t let us have any soda or junk food. I’m glad about that, mostly because I grew up drinking and eating all organic foods and drinks. Having junk food around will just tempt me. During dinner I catch Scarlet’s eye and glare at her. After dinner I tell Helen about Scarlet, and how she tricked me into meeting her at the pool. “She was probably going to insult me in front of all her friends,” I finish miserably. “Well at least she didn’t get to,” Helen consoles me. The next morning at breakfast, after a restless night, Margaret announces that we’ll be going to the local nursing home after lunch. “We will get to choose someone to keep in touch with. You could say that we’re going to have pen pals.” Scarlet and her companions giggle. I guess they think that having pen pals is for 2nd graders. I smirk. I only had a pen pal when I was in 1st grade, but I guess Scarlet has had a lot of experience with pen pals. Anyways, Margaret told us that the buses will be leaving at 1 o’clock sharp, so we better be ready by then.

4 thoughts on “My Awesome Writing: I don’t even know what post numbers these are

  1. Cami, this is very entertaining and written extremely well. Keep posting!
    p.s. having junk food around tempts me too. Jay.

Feel free to comment!

